Exhilarating!


THOUGHT OF THE DAY:

Wow. This is really exhilarating – writing and posting every day again. It’s almost therapeutic. Thanks for sticking by me! Here’s todays writing:

A cascade of shells and machine gun fire ricocheted around my feet. Wind pounded in my ears. All I could smell was fear. All I could taste was dust. It seemed like the unstable four walls that held my life together were about to collapse. How did I end up here? That’s when my sole sanctuary came into view, the only thing I could trust, my lone refuge – the embassy.

As my feet pounded against the sand, my destination moments away, dread filled my mind. They had already started to evacuate the embassy, no doubt, but there was little hope for those that weren’t on the fleet of helicopters that was kept there for emergencies. There was no way another helicopter or plane could get through to this place once that too-small squadron had left. And by the looks of it, there was only one helicopter left inside the embassy.

No. No, no, no, no, no! I thought. This can’t be happening.

The final helicopter started to leave.

Finding strength, I sprinted to the gates. I had to get onto that helicopter. There was no way I was getting left behind.

Flailing my arms, I tried to attract attention. There wasn’t any possibility of me getting on board unless it slowed down.

The chances of me going into space tomorrow were greater than the chance of that helicopter waiting for me. Nevertheless, I had never been one to go down without a fight, and I ran faster than I ever had before. I still couldn’t stop the inevitable, though, and a few seconds before I reached the gates the helicopter left.

Maybe they left the gates open. It was my only chance now, and I kept on running.

They had. Maybe they had meant to lock them but had had no time. Either way, I was inside. I went up, taking advantage of the stairs. Too late, as always, I reached the roof.

Looking into the horizon, praying for a hail mary, I nearly fainted from shock – another helicopter had just arrived!

I started crying. I couldn’t help it. I was safe! A miracle was happening before my eyes!

Within moments, the helicopter was hovering over the roof. They weren’t landing? What?

Just before I lost all hope, the side opened up. A fitted gun rose, and started to defend the helicopter. What must have been Marines dropped down on ropes and surrounded me. One fitted a harness onto my waist, while the rest started forming a human shield around me. Within milliseconds, we were airborne and the helicopter was flying away.

As I was buckled into a seat, I realized the problem with my rescue.

“How come you guys didn’t check for other survivors?”

He kept on assembling the complicated seatbelt, and answered. “We were sent for you alone.”

All this for me?

******************

What do you think? Leave a comment and don’t forget to subscribe!

Sincerely, Lemons

Leave a Reply

