I’m Impressed!


THOUGHT OF THE DAY: If it’s zero degrees outside today and it’s supposed to be twice as cold tomorrow, how cold is it going to be?

With myself! I’m impressed with myself – I’ve never written so much of one story before. I’m lovin’ it:

 

The nerve gas cleared from the air, and with normal oxygen came the ability to move. Of course, feeling came back slowly. After ten minutes, I could move my head and neck. At the thirty minute mark, I could move my torso. By the time an hour had passed, I could wiggle my toes. But now I was frozen into place not by chemicals, but by fear. If these Pets had hover cars – that was what the group around me and I had decided to call their flying limousines – and black foam that could stop fire, and they understood all of it, what else did they have? What else could they do?

The one thing that I did know, with a sickening certainty, was that all the scientists had said in the past five decades was bullshit.

* * *

By the time we had all unfrozen and gotten over our panic enough to think clearly, there were fifteen hover cars that had landed with about thirty Pets in each. Each had held a different species – some had had birds, some had cats, some had dogs, and there were others as well.

We were alarmingly outnumbered. For every one human, there were at least four Pets. And each Pet had a belt full of weapons.

Although Ava was still paralyzed by fear, I didn’t have that luxury. I picked her up easily, as she was still under a hundred pounds, but I had no clue what to do next. Drake was probably my best bet, since no one could afford to be mad at anyone else anymore. From the way they presented themselves, the Pets made it clear – it’s us against them.

After Drake realized I was trying to walk over to him without jostling Ava, a hopeless task in itself, he came over to me.

“We don’t stand a chance in a fight,” he said, already planning our next move. I must have been right about the whole ‘united front’ thing. “but I don’t know what else we can do. They’d be able to catch us if we ran, so what’s the point in that? It seems like the only thing we can do is just sit here but I can’t stand that!” Drake finished, out of breath for talking for so long and so quickly.

“Jabberjay!” said Ava, causing us to do the impossible – laugh.

“You know, Ava,” I said, suddenly finding a plan. “we’re going to need you.”

* * *

After I finished murmuring the plan to Ava, Drake, and the men he had brought with him to rescue us, everyone was looking at me in disbelief.

“What the hell are you thinking?!” “You’ll get us killed!” “That’s not even a possibility!‘ chorused throughout the group.

“Don’t you guys see? It’s not the only thing we can’t do, it’s the only thing we can do! Anything else will definitely get us killed. At least this gives us a chance!”

More discord arose from the unit. Everyone had been talking at a stage whisper, wanting to shout but not being able. Ava was the only one quiet, but she was clearly starting to get annoyed.

“Well,” Ava said innocently, immediately silencing everyone. “does anyone else have a better idea?” After about a minute of complete quiet, she hissed “I thought so! Now shut up, and play your part well if you don’t want to get us all killed!”

Wow. I had never known she could get so … mad.

“Now, Jade, what do I do?” she grinned, turning to me.

Grinning back, I answered, “I always knew I could count on you…”

* * *

Twenty minutes later, the Pets moved forward.

And, according to plan, we all showed our true feelings as clear as day on our faces – fear, mostly.

And, according to plan, we all stayed rooted to where we were standing.

And, according to plan, we all joined into a circle, protecting Ava, as soon as they came close.

Although we were all supposed to be scared out of our wits, I felt my expression turn from fear to determination. I was going to protect Ava as long as I was able.

However, when they produced another gas capsule, we all took steps even closer to Ava. She’s the only reason we might still be alive in the morning. But panic completely overtook me when the gas started to come closer.

This isn’t apart of the plan! the angel said.

We know that! Shut up and let her think! retorted the devil.

These. Voices. Were. Not. A. Good. Sign. But that devil was right – I needed to think clearly and be levelheaded right now.

“Everyone,” I whispered frantically, knowing we had little time. “Hug Ava! Now!” Not knowing what else to do, everyone followed directions. As far as they knew, we were doomed. I felt bad letting them think that this could be their last hours, but there was no time to explain. Protecting Ava had to be our number one priority if anyone was going to survive to see the next sunrise.

As the now familiar sensation of losing control of my body fell over me, I knew what the difference was between this moment and the last – we had a chance.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Make sure to subscribe, and don’t forget to comment!

Sincerely, Lemons

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Freedom, by the way on February 19, 2011 at 8:01 am

    TFTD: I’m not that good at math (which is probably why I’m a writer), but I would say on a Fahrenheit scale, 0 is 32 degree below the freezing pt. So twice as cold would be -64 degrees or maybe it would be -32? And I really don’t know what I’m talking about.

    Story–I will read and repost–had to get your tftd off my mind first!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Freedom, by the way on February 19, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Do the Pets talk? Why is saving Ava the most important thing and why does the group think she can save them? What do the Pets want? Questions, questions, which I’m sure you will answer at some point.

    Re: earlier commnet. I’ve decided it’s -32.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

