Ok, This Is Getting Weird …


THOUGHT OF THE DAY: Why do they sterilize needles for lethal injections?

Well, here you go. This is getting weird – read this next segment to see what I mean:

 

We just sat there for a few minutes, laughing and crying and hugging, just being happy that we were both there, together. But after minute three ticked by, Drake started to get mad again.

“What is wrong with you two?! First you’re screaming bloody murder,” he said, pointing to me. Turning to Ava, he dropped his voice to a dangerous whisper.  “and you’re crying because you’re legs are being busted. We still don’t know what caused those damn explosions. And now you’re laughing?

Maybe it was his choice of words, maybe it was his tone; maybe it was the crazed, pained look on his face. But something there made both me and Ava stop laughing simultaneously.

He turned back to me. “Do you know,” he said, still in that dangerous whisper of his, “that I have no idea where my parents are? They’re probably in that call line, along with every other person unlucky enough to be in the wrong place at the worst time.”

“Drake-”

“Stop, Jade. It doesn’t matter what you say now, or if you keep laughing. You see the lumps covered in sheets that were living, breathing, people only yesterday. How can you-”

But he never got to finish. Because just then, the Pets came.

* * *

What looked like huge floating limousines populated the sky, and we all looked to each other, trying to confirm that we weren’t crazy, that someone else saw it too.

We all wished we were crazy a second later, when the floating limousines started dropping gas capsules.

White smoke started to come closer and closer, and me and Ava hugged tighter and tighter. By the time the gas had reached us, we had a death grip on each other. We had been separated during the explosions. We weren’t going to be divided again.

It finally reached our feet, and I was suddenly stuck in place. It started to climb up to my ankles, and I witnessed the same sensation of lost control everywhere it touched.

“Everyone, it’s nerve gas! Keep your mouths open, no matter what! Otherwise, you’ll have a hard time breathing.” Drake screamed, every word dripping with desperation.

I looked down at Ava. “Ready?” She nodded, and I did the same in response. “Expand your chest so you can still breathe. Good luck, Ava.” I saw, rather than felt, her go ridged in my arms. Setting a determined look on my face, I lost all feeling there too. Suddenly, the only thing I could do was watch as my town burst into flames.

* * *

It was odd, not being able to do anything but watch. I was yelling at myself – inside my head of course, I was lucky I could breathe, let alone yell! – the entire time. What are you doing?! Do something!

But as much as I tried, willpower couldn’t just make nerve gas go away.

The town continued to burn, for hours and hours. Whenever the fire started to come near us, one of the floating limousines would spray some black foam on it, stopping the fire in it’s path.

When the town was beyond repair; when it was completely charred; the black foam replaced the flames and everything that hadn’t collapsed during the fire diminished the moment the foam touched it.

Then the limousines landed, and everything else happening in my head gave way to worry. How could I protect Ava, or anyone else, if I couldn’t even move?

The doors opened in sync, and I went into a full scale panic attack. If they, whoever they might be, had wanted us all dead, why hadn’t they let the fire burn us? It wasn’t like we could have run away. Or was there something that was even more painful than death by burning? Maybe I was just overreacting, and they just wanted to talk…

Don’t flatter yourself, Jade. If they wanted to talk, they would have by now, the devil whispered.

Great. The voices were back.

Then something small, something furry, something orange stepped out of the limousine, and my heart nearly stopped.

I’m not so sure about that, said the angel.

Was the thing stepping out of the limousine a tabby cat?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I really have had cats on the mind lately! Anyways, be sure to leave a comment and subscribe to Keep The Lemons.

Sincerely, Lemons

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Freedom, by the way on February 18, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    oh no! They’re being invaded by feline aliens! You have quite the imagination, Lemons!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

