Cool, Cool, Cool


THOUGHT OF THE DAY: Since Americans throw rice at weddings, do Asians throw hamburgers?

Cool, cool, cool. Let me know what you think of this next part:

 

Then the scenery changed.

It was clear that I was in a dream. That much I could tell. But something was wrong. I couldn’t see a foot in front of me, or the hand that I waved in front of my face. So I turned around, and there it was – a pinprick of light, at the very end of the tunnel. I could see a silhouette, and in the odd logic the dreams often have, I knew it was Ava. Just  before I stepped to Ava, I felt a pull towards the dark side of the tunnel, and I looked back in that direction, on the off chance I would see anything. And I did – it was my parents, as ghosts.

So they are dead, then-

I brushed the thought aside; I didn’t have time to sulk. This dream had a sense of urgency to it, like it was crucial that I decide where to walk right now.

It should be easy. Walk to Ava. Your parents haven’t been exactly kind to you…

They’re my parents!

I had started to fight with myself again. Definitely not a good sign.

No matter what the state of my mental health, the nightmare went on for what seemed like hours. I was being pulled every which way, never deciding, never moving forward.

On and on and on…

* * *

Someone shrieking finally brought me out of the nightmare. Then I realized that I was the one screaming. It was quite a shock to find that I was screaming without trying to. Or wanting to, for that matter.

After I had calmed down, I opened my eyes to find Drake’s eyes not three inches from mine, his nose brushing against mine as I breathed. Drake’s entire face relaxed and showed only relief as he recognized the fact that I was responsive.

“My God, Jade! You scared the shit out of me!” Drake said, past relief and moving onto to the next step in the you-scared-the-shit-out-of-me! process – anger.

“Do me a favor, Jade – the next time you decide to faint, give me a defibrillator beforehand.” Drake shouted over his shoulder, walking to go get Ava who was a few feet away. Picking her up, and bringing her towards me, he managed to glare at me the entire time. But there wasn’t any time to worry about him. Ava was much more important.

“Ava! Ava, baby, are you okay?” I whispered, Drake finally putting her in my arms.

“It’s not that bad anymore, Jade. They gave me splints, some oxygen, cough medicine, and tons of painkillers. And my spine isn’t even broken! Neither are my feet or ankles! It could’ve been a lot worse, they said.” She paused, taking a breath.

“That’s great, Jabberjay!” I sometimes called her Jabberjay, since she developed her ability to talk profusely while she had a pet blue jay. She got the pet for her sixth birthday, and six years of the nickname had turned it into an inside joke.

And, in spite of circumstance, we both laughed.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

Definitely leave a comment and don’t forget to subscribe!

Sincerely, Lemons

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Freedom, by the way on February 17, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Still reading. Keep posting, Lemons.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

